on fear and courage.

image

The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”
Deuteronomy 31:8

I confess I’ve felt fears cold tentacles slithering around my mind lately. They slowly creep, wrapping their chilling tendrils around my thoughts and heart.

The approach is stealthy, disguised as worry or over thinking. And while I’m naively unaware (or perhaps just in denial), the octopi like army feed on my anxieties, gain strength, and lock me down into full blown fear.

Once I’m there- in that fear laced state of being, I become myopic. I cannot see beyond myself and the next few hours or days ahead. The future seems unreachable and impossible. The “what if’s” take over and I’m left struggling and gasping for hope filled air to replace the cloud of fear-fog I’ve inhaled.

What is the answer for this? If only there was a fear-repellent pill I could swallow and suddenly be always brave and confident in my God and His power for my life.

The answer is before me- in the age old book called The Bible. If I am willing to read it, to pray it’s scriptures out loud- I will be changed. It says in the Bible that the Word itself is sharp like a double edged sword. So I take up that sword and I start slicing those tentacles of fear away, one by one, verse by verse.

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the defense of my life; whom shall I dread? (Psalm 27:1)

I sought the LORD, and He answered me, and delivered me from all my fears. (Psalm 34:4)

I strike with the Word-sword again and again and with each swing I regain my freedom.

“Do not be afraid any longer, only believe.” (Mark 5;35)

I preach to my heart-

Say to those with anxious heart, “Take courage, fear not. Behold, your God will come with vengeance; the recompense of God will come, but He will save you.” (Isaiah 35:4)

And I command my spirit-
“Do not fear, for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”
Isaiah 41:10

Do not anxiously look about you.

That phrase right there. It leaps out at me. Most of the time I DO look anxiously about me- I look in books and Google for answers. My thoughts spin around in my head trying to come up with the right solution or answer. But I am supposed to look to God, and speak who he is over my life and my fears.

It doesn’t make logical worldly sense, this speaking and praying scripture. But it makes spiritual sense. “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

Courage, dear heart- he has overcome the world.

Courage, dear heart- he IS with you.

Courage, dear heart- he has a plan for you.

Courage, dear heart- he redeems all brokenness laid at his feet.

Courage, dear heart- he goes before you, he walks behind you. You are not alone in any situation you face.

Courage, dear heart.

Leave a Reply

