on peace

image

I’m trying to learn to “seek peace and pursue it” in my daily life. I need peace in so many areas- I need it to cover my thoughts about my children and their futures, I need it to cover my mind and emotions as I watch yet another grey day dump buckets of rain outside my window, I need to rest in it and accept that the Lord has me where he wants me today in spite of my inner longings.

This is daily peace, a need to be surrendered to God Almighty. I think that if I can learn to seek His peace in the daily things it will build up a stockpile in the deep recesses of my being that I will be able to dip into during the hard times and calamities that are inevitable in life.

“Peace comes in situations completely surrendered to the sovereign authority of Christ. Sometimes when we finally give up trying to discover all the answers in the whys in our lives and decide to trust the sovereign God, unexpected peace washes over us like a summer rain. We sometimes lack peace in far less strenuous circumstances because we are not as desperate or as likely to turn them over to God” (Beth Moore, Living Free)

I need to completely surrender these seemingly small daily situations to Christ and learn to live in His peace. It’s these smaller things every day that seek to steal my joy, to make me discontent, or even to deplete my storehouse of peace bit by bit, in ways I don’t notice until it’s too late- when the troubles strike I will be dry and feeling alone.

But if I choose to seek His peace and pursue after it today, not only will it supply what I need for today, but also prepare my heart for the future.

Jesus, I give my life, my day, my mind, my emotions, my wants, and my needs to you. I surrender all of this life of mine to your authority. I confess you are Lord of my life- not me. I pray I would learn to surrender to you even more, and that your peace would wash over me like a river, wrapping itself around all my “stuff”. Thank you Jesus.
Amen.

One thought on “on peace

Leave a Reply

