give grace

woodsglow2

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths,

But only-

Such as is GOOD for building UP…

That it may GIVE GRACE to those who hear.
Ephesians 4:29

I had a little devotional time with my kids this morning on this subject. Our church has been having a series on “Respectable” sins…Sins that we brush off while we focus on other “major” sins in society.

For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the Glory of God. Every one of us sins. There is no getting away from that. But Grace. But Jesus.

In him is our Hope.

I digress.

We had a really good talk together about letting our words be gifts of Grace to one another. Talking about what lifts up, what builds up. I asked each child how they felt when someone yelled at them or said a mean thing. Then I asked how they felt when someone encouraged them and gave them words that were like a gift- words of Grace.

They got it. They really did. We will be continuing to focus on this subject and scripture this week. The Word of God really does make a difference. Our day was much more Grace filled, and less strife filled. I loved it.

I have to get real here as a mom. Being a mom to 5 kids is challenging. They test me. They poke all my sore spots. Their energy contrasted with my lack of….whew. It is HARD. Hard doesn’t have to mean bad. (that’s a subject for another day.) But this thing called motherhood tears me open and shows all my faults, my failings, my struggles, my fears, my selfishness, my anger, my impatience. It lays me bare. I pray its making me Holy. I see my lack. I pray that Jesus would fill that lack. Without Him this would be one sinking ship.

As a mom, I ask myself- are my words giving Grace? And I know the answer. So very often they are not. And so I take this time in the Word to heart. Jesus, change me. Change my words. Help me to give Grace. Because you gave it to me first.

One thought on “give grace

  1. Beautifully said! I have 2 and I feel the same way….and mine are older and self sufficient (12 &8) 😁 but I still struggle with slowing down and showing more patience, giving more of my full attention. It sounds like it should be so easy…….I like how you put it…..it lays me bare. And all I am capable of doing is praying for Jesus to guide me. I just found your blog thru Instagram and what I’ve read so far has been amazing! You have a talent for writing!

Leave a Reply

